Cyber Security & Technology Series

Cyber Security Summit in Tallinn (2018)

View of the panel "Fighting the War After Next" at the Cyber Security Summit 2018 (Photo: MSC / Kuhlmann)

How can we defend democracy in the digital age? And how can we ensure that military technology, strategies, and procurement planning stay in sync with the accelerating pace of technological innovation? These were among the pressing questions raised by senior leaders from politics, the business and tech communities, academia, the military, and the intelligence sector at the MSC Cyber Security Summit 2018 on May 29. The high-level decision-makers and experts present included the President of Estonia, Kersti Kaljulaid, the Estonian Ministers of Foreign Affairs and of Defence, Sven Mikser and Jüri Luik, the NATO Assistant Secretary General for Emerging Security Challenges, Antonio Missiroli, the Norwegian Armed Forces Chief of Cyber Defence, General Inge Kampenes, and the Inspector of the Cyber and Information Space Command of the German Armed Forces, General Ludwig Leinhos.

It was the sixth Cyber Security Summit the MSC hosted jointly with Deutsche Telekom, with this year's summit also benefitting from cooperation with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia and the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (CCDCOE). The full-day program of the summit featured three on-the-record panel discussions, as well as a number of smaller roundtable sessions under Chatham House Rules.

Our report summarizes the key issues and arguments from the summit. You can view a selection of photographic impressions of the event in our media library.



About the Cyber Security & Technology Series

Technological change is continually transforming the way countries develop, interact, and pursue their security interests at home and abroad. Accordingly, cyber security in particular has become a critical item on the international security agenda in recent years. The growing attention this topic commands is reflected in discussions about norms in the cyber realm, concerns about Big Data and privacy, as well as the security of critical infrastructure. Simultaneously, technological developments, such as artificial intelligence and new types of weapons systems, are having an untold security implications – in conventional warfare, the cyber realm, as well as outer space. A key aim of the Cyber Security & Technology Series is bridging the worlds of technology, politics and the security sector by including in its events selected decision-makers at the highest levels of government, academia, militaries, the private sector, and civil society.


Summits, Roundtables and other activities

As part of the Cyber Security & Technology Series, the MSC organizes numerous events, which vary in size.

MSC Summits address an audience of up to 150 high-profile representatives from government, academia, the military, the private sector, and civil society, while also retaining the MSC’s trademark atmosphere of open exchange and frank debates in an exclusive setting. These summits aim to bring together political and economic leaders to develop security strategies against threats from cyberspace and consider the challenges as well as opportunities that accompany technological progress.

MSC Roundtables are intimate, off-the-record gatherings of no more than 40 participants taking place throughout the year at the sidelines of high-level international events around the world. The topics of discussion are tailored to reflect current debates and challenges in cyber security and technology, attracting high-ranking representatives from governments, academia, militaries, the private sector, and civil society.

Further MSC events in the Series focus on bridging the gap between private and public sector innovation. As an increasing number of start-ups caters to the defence sector, the MSC and its international partners provide a platform to strengthen cross-sectoral dialogue. During the annual flagship conference in Munich, technology and cyber issues have regularly taken center stage at panel discussions as well as in a growing number of side events. Further, the MSC regularly includes chapters on technological issues in its annual Munich Security Reports, such as a chapter on cyber security in the 2018 edition of the report.


Past Events

Roundtable on Technology & Security in Munich (2018)

For the first time, the MSC dedicated a roundtable at the annual flagship conference to the growing challenges that artificial intelligence poses to the arena of international security. The event was attended by leading representatives from militaries, governments, the think tank community, and the private sector.

Participants agreed that a race to the top in artificial intelligence was already underway. Managing the risks of artificial intelligence and its intersections with current technologies, such as nuclear weapons, was considered a crucial undertaking for the near future. The discussion also revolved around the wider topic of cyber space, where traditional notions of deterrence and proportionality are less and less adequate. There was broad agreement that discussions of cyber space’s role should no longer be held in isolation, but in the context of concrete conflict scenarios.


Roundtable on Cyber Security in Munich (2018)

At the sidelines of the Munich Security Conference 2018, the MSC organized a Cyber Security Roundtable, titled "Mutually Assured Disruption – Deterrence in the Age of Cyber Geopolitics." Partnering with the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (CCDCOE) and the EastWest Institute, the event brought together a group of selected participants from non-governmental organizations, governments, private companies, international organizations as well as the military.

During the roundtable, participants discussed possible threats of state-sponsored cyberattacks and to which extent institutional responses could increase stability in cyberspace. Participants highlighted the role that the United Nations and other multilateral fora could play in the process of adopting norms of behavior for states. Subsequently, the debates at the roundtable focused on the moral and legal responsibility of technology companies in the creation of cyber infrastructure and tools, including offensive cyber weapons.


Roundtable on Cyber Security in Brussels (2017)

What are the current shortcomings of the EU legislative agenda and policy debate on cybersecurity? Is Europe sufficiently prepared to deal with cyber aggression by third countries and which instruments should Europe develop to respond to large-scale cyber-attacks? How can the political deadlock in the cyber norms process between Western "like-minded" states and Russia/China be overcome? And how is technology impacting geopolitics and how is geopolitics impacting technology? These were some of the crucial questions that were discussed at the MSC Roundtable on Cybersecurity on November 6, 2017 in Brussels.

The discussion was held under Chatham House Rules. Our report here summarizes the key points of the discussions. See a few photo impressions from the day's agenda here in our Media Library.


Cyber Security Summit in Tel Aviv (2017)

The fifth MSC Cyber Security Summit (CSS) was co-hosted with Deutsche Telekom in Tel Aviv on June 28, 2017, bringing the MSC Cyber Security Series to one of the most dynamic IT hubs in the world. On occasion of Israel's Cyber Week 2017, the MSC partnered with the National Cyber Directorate at the Israeli Prime Minister's Office and the Blavatnik Interdisciplinary Cyber Research Center at Tel Aviv University. By placing our debates alongside cutting-edge discussions on the IT and digital industries at Cyber Week, the summit attempted to bridge the often bemoaned disconnect between tech practitioners and policy-makers. The summit's 120 participants included senior representatives from politics, business, academia, the military, and the intelligence sector.

Topics of discussion included the cyber dimension of Grand Strategies in international relations, the challenge digital technologies pose to democratic processes, the vulnerability of critical infrastructure, and the efficacy of cyber norms. The public agenda of the summit can be found here. The most important points made during the debates are summarized in our conference report. You can also get an impression of the summit from the photos and videos in our media library.


Cyber Security Summit in Silicon Valley (2016)

On September 19 and 20, 2016, the Munich Security Conference and Deutsche Telekom organized the fourth Cyber Security Summit in Palo Alto, California. It was hosted by the Center for International Security and Cooperation at Stanford University's Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies. Among the roughly 100 participants were representatives from US and EU authorities, the cyber security coordinators of several European states, numerous business leaders, as well as security experts from various Silicon Valley companies.

The conference report as well as a selection of photos and videos give a more detailed impression of the Summit.


Cyber Security Summit 2014

The third Cyber Security Summit took place on November 3, 2014 in Bonn. More than 180 senior guests from politics, the private sector, the intelligence community, and NGO leaders discussed the state of play and potential steps ahead concerning recent developments in cyber and information warfare, data protection, and expectations and responsibilities of ICT companies.


Cyber Security Summit 2013

On November 11, 2013, around 130 top managers of major German corporations, leading politicians, and experts from the EU and Germany came together for the second Cyber Security Summit. The conference focused on the topics of espionage and sabotage and the regulatory frameworks at the national and international level. In working groups, participants discussed cyber security as a factor for investment and innovation, defining common areas for action and providing ideas for a networked digital defense.

 

The Final Communiqué of the 2nd Cyber Security Summit is available for download (PDF). Read more about the debates of the second Cyber Security Summit in this report.


Cyber Security Summit 2012

The first Cyber Security Summit took place on September 12, 2012, in Bonn. For the first time, the Munich Security Conference together with the Deutsche Telekom brought together high-ranking experts to discuss challenges of cyber security. The final communiqué of the first Cyber Security Summit (in German) is available for download here.

Cyber Security & Technology Series

Cyber Security Summit in Tallinn (2018)

Blick auf das Panel "Fighting the War After Next" beim Cyber Security Summit 2018 (Photo: MSC / Kuhlmann)

Wie können wir die Demokratie im digitalen Zeitalter verteidigen? Und wie können wir sicherstellen, dass Militärtechnologie, Strategien und Beschaffungsplanung mit dem zunehmenden Tempo der technologischen Innovation Schritt halten? Diese Fragen stellten sich auf dem MSC Cyber Security Summit 2018 am 29. Mai in Tallinn führende Persönlichkeiten aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Militär und Geheimdiensten. Unter den hochrangigen Entscheidungsträgern und Experten waren die Präsidentin Estlands, Kersti Kaljulaid, die estländischen Außen- und Verteidigungsminister Sven Mikser und Jüri Luik, der stellvertretende NATO-Generalsekretär für Neue Sicherheitsherausforderungen, Antonio Missiroli, der Leiter der Cyberabwehr der norwegischen Streitkräfte, General Inge Kampenes, und der Inspekteur des Cyber- und Informationsraums der deutschen Bundeswehr, General Ludwig Leinhos.

Es war der sechste Cyber Security Summit, den die MSC gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Telekom veranstaltete. Der diesjährige Gipfel profitierte zudem von der Zusammenarbeit mit dem estnischen Außenministerium und dem NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (CCDCOE). Das ganztägige Programm des Gipfels umfasste drei Podiumsdiskussionen sowie eine Reihe kleinerer Roundtable-Formate, die unter Chatham House Rules abgehalten wurden.

Eine Zusammenfassung der zentralen Themen und Argumente können Sie in unserem Bericht nachlesen. In unserer Mediathek gibt es ausgewählte fotographische Eindrücke vom Cyber Security Summit 2018 zu sehen.


Photos & Videos

Zur Mediathek

Über die Cyber Security & Technology Series

Der technologische Wandel verändert kontinuierlich die Art und Weise, wie Länder sich entwickeln, interagieren und ihre innere und äußere Sicherheit verfolgen. Dementsprechend ist insbesondere die Cybersicherheit in den letzten Jahren zu einem wichtigen Bestandteil der internationalen Sicherheitsagenda geworden. Das wachsende Bewusstsein für dieses Thema spiegelt sich in einer zunehmenden Diskussion über Normen im Cyberbereich, über Datensammlung und -schutz sowie über die Sicherheit kritischer Infrastruktur wider. Gleichzeitig entfalten technologische Fortschritte, wie im Bereich künstlicher Intelligenz und neuartiger Waffensysteme, ungeahnte Implikationen – für die konventionelle Kriegsführung, den Cyberspace sowie auch den Weltraum. Ein Kernziel der Cyber Security & Technology Series ist, eine Brücke zwischen Technologie, Politik und Verteidigungssektor zu schlagen, indem sie an ihren Veranstaltungen ausgewählte Entscheidungsträger auf den höchsten Ebenen von Regierungen, Wissenschaft, Militär, Privatsektor und Zivilgesellschaft beteiligt.


Summits, Roundtables und andere Aktivitäten

Im Rahmen der Cyber Security & Technology Series organisiert die MSC zahlreiche Veranstaltungen unterschiedlicher Größe.

MSC Summits richten sich an bis zu 150 ranghohe Vertreter von Regierungen, Militärs, Forschung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft, wobei die MSC-typische Atmosphäre des offenen Austauschs in einem ausgewählten Rahmen erhalten bleibt. Ziel dieser Summits ist es, Entscheidungsträger verschiedener Sektoren zusammenzubringen, um Sicherheitsstrategien gegen Bedrohungen aus dem Cyberspace zu entwickeln und die Herausforderungen und Chancen zu erörtern, die mit dem technologischen Fortschritt einhergehen.

MSC Roundtables sind vertrauliche Treffen von nicht mehr als 40 Teilnehmern, die das Jahr über am Rande hochkarätiger internationaler Veranstaltungen auf der ganzen Welt stattfinden. Die Diskussionsthemen sind auf die aktuellen Debatten und Herausforderungen der Cybersicherheit und Technologie zugeschnitten und ziehen hochrangige Vertreter von Regierungen, Militärs, Forschung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft an.

Weitere Veranstaltungen in diesem Bereich beschäftigen sich mit der Verknüpfungen von staatlicher und privatwirtschaftlicher Innovation. Da eine zunehmende Anzahl von Start-Ups im Verteidigungssektor tätig ist, bieten die MSC und ihre internationalen Partner eine Plattform für sektorenübergreifenden Austausch. Während der jährlichen Hauptkonferenz in München stehen Cyber- und Technologie-Themen regelmäßig im Mittelpunkt der Podiumsdiskussionen und einer wachsenden Zahl von Nebenveranstaltungen. Darüber hinaus nimmt die MSC in ihren jährlichen Munich Security Report regelmäßig Kapitel zu technologischen Herausforderungen auf, wie etwa zum Thema Cybersicherheit in der 2018er Ausgabe des Reports.


Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Roundtable on Technology & Security in München (2018)

Im Februar 2018 widmete die MSC zum ersten Mal einen Roundtable auf der jährlichen Hauptkonferenz den wachsenden Herausforderungen, die künstliche Intelligenz an die Welt der internationalen Sicherheit stellt. An der Veranstaltung nahmen führende Vertreter verschiedener Regierungen, Militärs, der Forschung und der Privatwirtschaft teil.

Die Teilnehmer waren sich einig, dass im Bereich künstlicher Intelligenz bereits ein internationaler Wettlauf im Gange ist, und dass der Umgang mit ihren Risiken und ihren Schnittpunkten mit bestehenden Technologien wie etwa Kernwaffen in naher Zukunft entscheidend sein wird. Die Diskussion drehte sich auch um das breitere Thema des Cyberspace, wo traditionelle Vorstellungen von Abschreckung und Proportionalität immer weniger anwendbar sind. Es bestand weitgehend Einigkeit darüber, dass die Diskussionen über die Rolle des Cyberspace nicht mehr isoliert, sondern im Kontext konkreter Konfliktszenarien geführt werden sollten.


Roundtable on Cyber Security in München (2018)

Am Rande der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz 2018 veranstaltete die MSC einen "Roundtable on Cyber Security" unter dem Titel "Mutually Assured Disruption – Deterrence in the Age of Cyber Geopolitics". In Zusammenarbeit mit dem NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (CCDCOE) und dem EastWest Institute brachte die Veranstaltung eine Gruppe ausgewählter Teilnehmer aus, Regierungen, Privatunternehmen, internationalen Organisationen, NGOs sowie dem Militär zusammen.

Während des Roundtable diskutierten die Teilnehmer die Gefahr staatlich geförderter Cyberattacken und inwiefern institutionelle Lösungen die Sicherheit im Cyberspace erhöhen könnten. Die Teilnehmer hoben die Rolle hervor, welche die Vereinten Nationen und andere multilaterale Foren bei der Verabschiedung von Verhaltensnormen für Staaten spielen könnten. Anschließend konzentrierten sich die Debatten auf die moralische und rechtliche Verantwortung von Technologieunternehmen bei der Schaffung von Cyber-Infrastruktur und -Instrumenten, einschließlich offensiver Cyberwaffen.


Roundtable on Cyber Security in Brüssel (2017)

Was sind die Lücken in der EU-Agenda und -Debatte beim Thema Cybersicherheit? Ist Europa ausreichend vorbereitet um auf Aggressionen im Cyberraum zu antworten und welche Instrumente sollte Europa entwickeln um auf groß angelegte Cyberattacken zu antworten? Wie kann die politische Blockade im Normenfindungsprozess zwischen westlichen Staaten und Russland/China aufgelöst werden? Und wie beeinflusst Technologie die Politik und andersherum? Dies waren einige der wichtigen Fragen, die am MSC Roundtable zum Thema Cybersicherheit am 6. November 2017 in Brüssel diskutiert wurden.

Der MSC Roundtable on Cyber Security versammelte eine hochrangige Gruppe von Cybersicherheitsexperten aus der ganzen Welt in der europäischen Hauptstadt. 

Die Diskussion unterlag der Chatham House Rule. Eine Zusammenfassung der Kern-Diskussionsthemen in englischer Sprache finden sie hier. Einige Fotoimpressionen haben wir hier für Sie zusammengestellt.


Cyber Security Summit in Tel Aviv (2017)

Der fünfte MSC Cyber Security Summit (CSS), den die MSC gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Telekom am 28. Juni 2017 veranstaltete, fand in Tel Aviv, einem der dynamischsten Zentren des IT-Bereichs weltweit, statt. Im Rahmen von Israels Cyber Week 2017 kooperierte die MSC mit dem Nationalen Cyber-Direktorat im Büro des israelischen Premierministers und dem Blavatnik Interdisciplinary Cyber Research Center an der Universität Tel Aviv. Durch die Einbindung in die Cyber Week versuchte der Summit, dabei zu helfen, die oft beklagte Kluft zwischen Tech-Experten und Politikbetrieb zu überbrücken. Zu den 120 Teilnehmern des CSS zählten hochrangige Vertreter aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Militär, Wissenschaft und Nachrichtendiensten.

Diskussionsthemen waren unter anderem die Gefahr der digitalen Einflussnahme auf demokratische Prozesse, der Schutz von kritischer Infrastruktur und die Effektivität von Normen im Cyberspace. Die öffentliche Agenda des CSS ist hier einsehbar. Die wichtigsten Argumente aus den Debatten haben wir einem Konferenzbericht zusammengefasst. Von den Fotos & Videos in der Mediathek können Sie sich einen Eindruck des Geschehens verschaffen.


Cyber Security Summit in Silicon Valley (2016)

Die vierte Auflage des Cyber Security Summit (CSS) der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz und der Deutschen Telekom fand am 19. und 20. September 2016 im Silicon Valley statt. Gastgeber war das Center for International Security and Cooperation (CISAC) des Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies der Stanford University im kalifornischen Palo Alto. Unter den 140 hochrangigen internationalen Teilnehmern waren Vertreter aus US-Regierung und EU-Behörden, Cybersicherheits-Koordinatoren mehrerer europäischer Staaten, zahlreiche Wirtschaftsführer sowie Sicherheitsexperten verschiedener Firmen aus dem Silicon Valley.


Weitere Informationen zum Gipfel finden Sie hier: den Konferenzbericht sowie Fotos & Videos von der Veranstaltung.


Cyber Security Summit 2014

Der Cyber Security Summit 2014 fand am 3. November in Bonn statt. Mehr als 180 Vertreter aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Nachrichtendiensten und Nichtregierungsorganisationen diskutierten den Stand der Dinge und mögliche zukünftige Entwicklungen im Bereich von Cyber- und Informationskrieg und Datenschutz sowie Erwartungen und Aufgaben von Unternehmen in der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologiebranche.


Cyber Security Summit 2013

Am 11. November kamen rund 130 Top-Manager großer deutscher Konzerne sowie führende Politiker und Experten aus der EU und Deutschland für den Cyber Security Summit 2013 zusammen. Im Mittelpunkt der Konferenz standen die Themen Spionage und Sabotage und die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. In Arbeitsgruppen diskutierten die Teilnehmer über Cyber-Sicherheit als Faktor für Investitionen und Innovationen, vereinbarten gemeinsame Aktionsbereiche und arbeiteten Ideen für eine vernetzte digitale Verteidigung aus.

Das Abschlusskommuniqué des zweiten Cyber Security Summit steht hier zum Download zur Verfügung. Lesen Sie mehr über die Debatten des zweiten Cyber Security Summit in diesem Bericht.


Cyber Security Summit 2012

Der Cyber Security Summit 2012 fand am 12. September in Bonn statt. Zum ersten Mal brachte die Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Telekom hochrangige Experten zusammen, um Herausforderungen im Bereich Cybersicherheit zu diskutieren. Das Abschlusskommuniqué des ersten Cyber Security Summit steht hier zum Download zur Verfügung.