Friday, February 6, 2009

4.00 p.m. Introductory Statement by the Conference Chairman
4.05  – 7.30 p.m.

Opening Plenary "Nonproliferation, Arms Control and the Future of Nuclear Weapons: Is Zero Possible?"



Foreign Minister Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Berlin
Dr. Henry Kissinger, New York

Panel Discussion
Opening Statement: Speaker Ali Larijani, Tehran
Deputy Prime Ministe, Sergei Ivanov, Moscow
Director General IAEA, Dr. Mohamed ElBaradei, Vienna
National Security Advisor M.K. Narayanan, New Delhi
Dr. Henry Kissinger, New York

8.15 p.m.

Dinner Speeches

Foreign Minister Karel Schwarzenberg, Chairman of the EU Council, Prague

President Dr. Fatmir Sejdiu, Pristina
after dinner

A Conversation with the President of the World Bank, Mr. Robert Zoellick

Moderator: Foreign Minister Dr. Alexander Stubb, Helsinki

Saturday, February 7, 2009

8.30 a.m. – 10.00 p.m.

Main Plenary Session "NATO, Russia, Oil, Gas and the Middle East:

The Future of European Security"


Introductory Statements (followed by discussion)

Deputy Prime Minister Dr. Alexandr Vondra, Prague
NATO Secretary General Jaap de Hoop Scheffer, Brussels
EU High Representative Dr. Javier Solana Madariaga, Brussels

10.20 a.m. – 1.00 p.m.

The Future of European Security (followed by discussion)

Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel, Berlin
Prime Minister Donald F. Tusk, Warsaw
President Nicholas Sarkozy, Paris



Vice President Joseph R. Biden, Washington D.C.

1.00 p.m. – 2.30 p.m.

Chairman's Luncheon
for Speakers, Panelists and Special VIP Guests

Luncheon Speakers:
José Barroso, President of the EU Commission, Brussels
General James Jones, National Security Advisor, Washington D.C.


2.45 p.m. – 4.30 p.m.


Continuation of the Main Plenary Session "NATO, Russia, Oil, Gas and the Middle East: The Future of European Security"

Panel Discussion

Moderator: Foreign Minister and OSCE Chairperson-in-Office Dora Bakoyannis, Athens
Representative Jane Harman, Washington D.C.
President Toomas Hendrik Ilves, Tallinn
Prime Minister Yulia Tymoshenko, Kiew
Foreign Minister David Miliband, London

5.00 p.m. – 7.00 p.m.

Parallel Panel Discussions

Managing Instability: Global Challenges and the Crisis of Global Governance

Moderator: Strobe Talbott, Washington D.C.
Foreign Minister Miguel Angel Moratinos Cuyaubé, Madrid
Defence Minister Yasukazu Hamada, Tokyo
Kenneth Roth, New York
Prof. Joseph S. Jr. Nye, Boston
Prof. Kishore Mahbubani, Singapore
Federal Minister Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble, Berlin

Managing Instability: The Transcaucasian Region and the Western Balkans

Moderator: Foreign Minister Carl Bildt, Stockholm
President Serzh Sargsyan, Erevan
Foreign Minister Miroslav Lajčák, Bratislava
Prime Minister Nikola Gruevski, Skopje
Foreign Minister Ali Babacan, Ankara
Foreign Minister Vuk Jeremic, Belgrade
Foreign Minister Cristian Diaconescu, Bucharest

8.00 p.m.

Official Dinner hosted by the Minister-President of the State of Bavaria, Dr. Horst Seehofer

Sunday, February 8, 2009

9.00 a.m. – 10.30 a.m.

Concluding Plenary Session "The Future of the Alliance and the Mission in Afghanistan"

Statements and Discussion
Federal Minister Dr. Franz-Josef Jung, Berlin
National Security Advisor General James Jones, Washington D.C.
President Hamid Karzai, Kabul

10.45 a.m. – 12.45 p.m. Panel Discussion

Moderator: Foreign Minister Radosław Sikorski, Warsaw
Foreign Minister Makhdoom Qureshi, Islamabad
Defence Minister John Hutton, London
General David H. Petraeus, Tampa
National Security Advisor Dr. Zalmai Rassoul, Kabul
Richard C. Holbrooke, Washington D.C.
Defence Minister Peter MacKay, Ottawa

12.45 p.m. Closing Statement by the Conference Chairman
1.00 p.m. Farewell Lunch