Human Security Series

Roundtable on Human Security Bahir Dar (April 2018)

A view of the Roundtable on Human Security in Bahir Dar, Ethiopia (Photo: MSC / Soyer)

On April 20, the MSC organized a Human Security Roundtable on the sidelines of the Tana High-Level Forum on African Security. Around 50 high-ranking representatives of governments, international organizations and civil society attended to advance the debate on mitigating effects of climate change and other environmental security hazards. The event was organized in partnership with the Tana Forum and the African Union. The Munich Security Conference has a unique relationship with the Tana Forum, which the MSC helped to set up seven years ago. Reflecting its commitment to a forward-thinking discourse on security in Africa, the MSC periodically returns to Bahir Dar, Ethiopia, to promote the discussion of global challenges from an African perspective.

As extreme weather events, such as heat waves and coastal flooding, occur more frequently across Africa, societies throughout the region become more exposed to the consequences of climate change – even more so as local governments lack sufficient capacities and financial resources to mitigate them.


The potential impact on stability, peace and development across the continent and wide-reaching repercussions for Europe and beyond is enormous. Thus, the MSC will continue to regularly revisit this issue in its future activities, and work to intensify cooperation with African partners. As Chairman Wolfgang Ischinger stated, MSC engagement in Africa is "a strategic priority for the next decade."


The key discussions from the Roundtable are summarized in our report. You can find select photo and video impressions from the event
in our media library.



About the Human Security Series

Over the past decades, security threats have become ever more complex. Accordingly, the traditional notion of national and international security had to be broadened to reflect the multitude of threats to human livelihood. Some of the past years' most significant security crises have further alerted the security community to the fact that human hardship – caused by climate change, environmental degradation, or human rights violations – oftentimes is the root cause of serious, sometimes even armed conflict.

Effective responses to these challenges must build on a cross-sectoral and multi-disciplinary approach. That is why the Munich Security Conference organizes events on issues such as health, migration, and the environment and thus promotes discussions and collaboration between the security community and development officials and experts, NGO leaders, international organizations, the research community, and the private sector. Building in particular on the success of its activities of the issue of health security, the MSC is now grouping its activities on these issues in the Human Security Series.


Summits, Roundtables and other activities

As part of the Human Security Series, the MSC organizes numerous events, which vary in size.

MSC Summits address an audience of up to 150 high-profile representatives from government, academia, the military, the private sector and civil society, while also retaining the MSC's trademark atmosphere of open exchange and frank debates in an exclusive setting. These summits aim to bring together leaders from various stakeholders to develop strategies for issues in environmental, humanitarian and health security.

MSC Roundtables are intimate, off-the-record gatherings of no more than 40 participants taking place throughout the year at the sidelines of high-level international events around the world. The topics of discussion are tailored to reflect current debates and challenges to human security, attracting high-ranking representatives from governments, academia, militaries, the private sector and civil society.

In addition to the events specifically dedicated to the topic, human security issues play an important role at all MSC activities. The MSC stages panel discussions as well as a growing number of side events on human security issues at the annual flagship conference in Munich and at the MSC's Core Group Meetings. Further, the MSC regularly includes chapters on human security issues in its annual Munich Security Reports, such as a chapter on environmental security in the 2018 edition of the report.

Past Events

Roundtable on Health Security Munich (2018)

The MSC continued its work on health security issues and focused this year's roundtable discussion on the crucial topic of healthcare provision in conflict zones. Participants from non-governmental organizations, governments, international organizations as well as the military were present to discuss the implications of the growing number of attacks on healthcare facilities.

Participants agreed that the increasing number of attacks on health care infrastructure constituted a new level of disregard for international humanitarian law, especially of the Geneva Conventions. The discussants deplored that despite the adoption of UN Security Council resolution 2286 demanding all actors stop targeting health care infrastructure, there has not been significant improvement. Speakers underscored that it was particularly alarming that not only non-state actors in conflicts carry out those attacks, but state-actors, too.


Roundtable on Human Security Munich (2018)

In 2018, the MSC organized its first Roundtable on Human Security, which brought together a wide array of experts and representatives with special expertise in the human dimension of security policy.

During the roundtable, participants discussed diverse dimensions of human security, touching on issues such as environmental degradation, protection of human rights, displacement, food security, and public health. In particular, the discussion delved into how these issues have a significant potential to trigger and drive conflicts in regions such as Africa, the Middle East, and Asia. Participants agreed that there is a need for a more interconnected approach when addressing security policy issues in conflict-prone regions.


Health Security Roundtable Berlin (2017)

On October 16, 2017, the Munich Security Conference organized a Health Security Roundtable on the sidelines of the World Health Summit in Berlin. The Roundtable was co-hosted by the MSC and the World Health Summit.

The discussions at the roundtable mostly focused on the fragmentation in Global Health Security leadership after the reforms post-Ebola. The discussants agreed that despite some real progress, overall progress has been mixed. Accordingly, participants urged the global community to provide more financial resources, identified significant capacity gaps at country level, and asked for clearer accountability mechanisms. As the world faces an unprecedented number of health emergency crises, time is running out in the fight against the next epidemic. 

Introductory remarks were offered by Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger, Chairman of the MSC, Detlev Ganten, Founding President of the World Health Summit, Suerie Moon, Director of Research at the Global Health Centre in Geneva, and Peter Salama, Executive Director of the Health Emergencies Programme at the World Health Organization. The roundtable was moderated by David Heymann, Head and Senior Fellow at Chatham House's Centre on Global Health Security.

A report on the roundtable can be found here. See our Media Library for a selection of photos from the event.


Health Security Roundtable Washington (May 2017)

The MSC organized a Health Security Roundtable at the margins of its Core Group Meeting, which was held on May 9/10 2017, in cooperation with the Global Health Policy Center of the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS). The two organizations assembled experts from politics, the military, business, science and non-governmental organizations.

The threat of bioterrorism was the focus of the discussions. The topic has become more relevant again through advances in the field of biotechnology (e.g. CRISPR), which have simplified the manipulation of pathogens significantly, as well as through the continuous terrorist threat. Participants were also interested as to whether the US will pursue its global leadership role in the area of health security under the new US administration led by Donald Trump.

Introductory remarks were offered by Tim Ziemer, Senior Director for Health Security and Biodefense at the National Security Council, Wendy Sherman, former Under Secretary of State, as well as Rob Nabors, Head of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation's Washington Office. The roundtable was moderated by J. Stephen Morrison, Director of the Global Health Policy Center at CSIS. A report on the roundtable can be found here.


Health Security Roundtable in Munich (February 2017)

On the sidelines of the Munich Security Conference 2017, which took place from February 17 to 19, the MSC hosted together with Chatham House and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation the Health Security Roundtable "Ready or Not? Addressing Gaps in the Global Surveillance and Response System." The roundtable brought together leadings experts and representatives of organizations from the field of Health Security to discuss the issues of pandemic preparedness in ungoverned spaces as well as attacks on health care infrastructure.

Among the high-ranking participants of the roundtable were Christopher Elias (President of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation), Joanne Liu (International President of Médecins Sans Frontières), Peter Maurer (President of the International Committee of the Red Cross), Alaa Murabit (Founder and President of The Voice of Libyan Women), Stefan Oschmann (Chairman of the Executive Board and Chief Executive Officer of Merck), Peter Salama (Executive Director of the Health Emergencies Programme of the World Health Organization) and Thomas D. Waldhauser (Commander of the African Command of the United States of America). The roundtable was moderated by Robin Niblett (Director of Chatham House).

Read Chatham House's report on the roundtable here.


Health Security Roundtable in Berlin (2016)

On October 9, the Munich Security Conference (MSC) organized a Health Security Roundtable on the sidelines of the World Health Summit at the Federal Foreign Office in Berlin. Together with the M8 Alliance, the MSC brought together leading representatives from international organizations, policy-makers, and researchers to discuss current challenges for global health security.

The debate mainly revolved around the nexus between health and security and the lessons learned from recent health security crises, especially the Ebola outbreak in West Africa. Among the Roundtable participants were Detlev Ganten, Founding President of the World Health Summit, Matshidiso Rebecca Moeti, Regional Director for Africa of the World Health Organization, Victor J. Dzau, President, National Academy of Medicine, Yves Daccord, Director General of the International Committee of the Red Cross, as well as Florian Westphal, Director of Médécins Sans Frontières, Germany. For more info on the event, take a look at the conference report as well as selected photos from the event.

Human Security Series

Roundtable on Human Security Bahir Dar (April 2018)

Ein Blick in den Roundtable on Human Security in Bahir Dar, Äthiopien (Photo: MSC / Soyer)

Am 20. April veranstaltete die MSC am Rande des Tana High-Level Forum on African Security einen Roundtable zu "Human Security". Rund 50 hochrangige Vertreter von Regierungen, internationalen Organisationen und der Zivilgesellschaft nahmen teil, um die Debatte über die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und andere ökologische Gefahren voranzutreiben. Die Veranstaltung wurde in Partnerschaft mit dem Tana Forum und der Afrikanischen Union organisiert. Die Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz hat eine besondere Beziehung zum Tana Forum, an dessen Entstehung die MSC vor sieben Jahren mitwirkte. Als Ausdruck ihres Engagements für einen zukunftsweisenden Diskurs über Sicherheit in Afrika kehrt die MSC regelmäßig nach Bahir Dar in Äthiopien zurück, um die Diskussion globaler Herausforderungen aus afrikanischer Sicht zu fördern.

Da extreme Wetterereignisse wie Hitzewellen und Küstenüberschwemmungen in ganz Afrika häufiger auftreten, sind die Gesellschaften in der gesamten Region den Folgen des Klimawandels stärker ausgesetzt – umso mehr, da es den lokalen Regierungen an ausreichenden Kapazitäten und finanziellen Ressourcen mangelt, um diese zu mildern.

Die potenziellen Auswirkungen auf Stabilität, Frieden und Entwicklung auf dem gesamten Kontinent und die weitreichenden Auswirkungen auf Europa und darüber hinaus sind enorm. Die MSC wird diese Frage daher auch in Zukunft regelmäßig wieder aufgreifen und die Zusammenarbeit mit afrikanischen Partnern intensivieren. Vorsitzender Wolfgang Ischinger nannte dabei das Engagement der MSC in Afrika als "eine strategische Priorität für das nächste Jahrzehnt."

Unseren Veranstaltungsbericht mit den Kernpunkten der Diskussionen beim Roundtable finden Sie hier. Unsere Mediathek bietet einige ausgewählte Fotos sowie eine Video-Zusammenfassung der Veranstaltung.


Photos & Videos

Zur Mediathek

Über die Human Security Series

Über die letzten Jahrzehnte hinweg sind Sicherheitsbedrohungen immer komplexer geworden. Entsprechend musste der traditionelle Begriff der nationalen und internationalen Sicherheit erweitert werden, um der Vielzahl von Bedrohungen für die menschliche Existenz Rechnung zu tragen. Einige der bedeutendsten Sicherheitskrisen der letzten Jahre haben die Sicherheitspolitik zusätzlich dafür sensibilisiert, dass menschliche Not – verursacht durch Klimawandel, Umweltzerstörung oder Menschenrechtsverletzungen – oft die Ursache für ernste, manchmal gar bewaffnete Konflikte ist.

Wirksame Antworten auf diese Herausforderungen müssen einem sektorenübergreifenden und interdisziplinären Ansatz folgen. Deshalb organisiert die Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz Veranstaltungen zu Themen wie Gesundheit, Migration und Umwelt und fördert damit Dialog und Zusammenarbeit zwischen der sicherheitspolitischen Community und den Entwicklungsbeauftragten und -experten, internationalen Organisationen und NGOs, der Forschung und der Privatwirtschaft. Aufbauend auf dem Erfolg ihrer Aktivitäten zum Thema Gesundheitssicherheit bündelt die MSC ihre Aktivitäten zu diesen Themen nun in der Human Security Series.


Summits, Roundtables und andere Aktivitäten

Im Rahmen der Human Security Series organisiert die MSC zahlreiche Veranstaltungen unterschiedlicher Größe.

MSC Summits richten sich an bis zu 150 ranghohe Vertreter von Regierungen, Militärs, Forschung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft, wobei die MSC-typische Atmosphäre des offenen Austauschs in einem ausgewählten Rahmen erhalten bleibt. Ziel dieser Summits ist es, Führungspersonen von diversen Stakeholdern zusammenzubringen, um Strategien für die Bewältigung von ökologischen, humanitären oder gesundheitlichen Sicherheitsherausforderungen zu diskutieren.

MSC Roundtables sind vertrauliche Treffen von nicht mehr als 40 Teilnehmern, die das Jahr über am Rande hochkarätiger internationaler Veranstaltungen auf der ganzen Welt stattfinden. Die Diskussionsthemen sind auf die diversen Facetten des erweiterten Sicherheitsbegriffs zugeschnitten und ziehen hochrangige Vertreter von Regierungen, Militärs, Forschung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft an.

Während der jährlichen Hauptkonferenz in München stehen Human Security-Themen regelmäßig im Mittelpunkt der Podiumsdiskussionen und einer wachsenden Zahl von Nebenveranstaltungen. Darüber hinaus nimmt die MSC in ihren jährlichen Munich Security Report regelmäßig Kapitel zu Aspekten von Human Security auf, wie etwa zum Thema Umweltsicherheit in der 2018er Ausgabe des Reports.


Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Roundtable on Health Security München (2018)

Die MSC setzte ihre Arbeit zu Fragen der Gesundheitssicherheit fort und konzentrierte sich beim Roundtable während der Hauptkonferenz am 16. Februar auf das entscheidende Thema der Gesundheitsversorgung in Krisengebieten. Teilnehmer von Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Regierungen, internationalen Organisationen sowie dem Militär waren anwesend, um die Auswirkungen von Angriffen auf Gesundheitseinrichtungen zu diskutieren.

Die Teilnehmer waren sich einig, dass die zunehmende Zahl von Angriffen auf die Gesundheitsinfrastruktur eine neue Stufe der Missachtung des humanitären Völkerrechts, insbesondere der Genfer Konventionen, darstellt. Die Diskussionsteilnehmer bedauerten, dass trotz der Verabschiedung von UN-Sicherheitsrats-Resolution 2286, in der alle Akteure zum Verzicht auf Schläge gegen Gesundheitsinfrastruktur aufgefordert werden, keine wesentlichen Verbesserungen erzielt wurden. Besonders besorgniserregend sei, dass nicht nur nichtstaatliche Akteure in Konflikten diese Schläge durchführen, sondern auch staatliche Akteure.


Roundtable on Human Security München (2018)

Bei der Hauptkonferenz im Februar 2018 veranstaltete die MSC ihren ersten "Roundtable on Human Security", an dem eine Vielzahl von Experten und Vertretern mit besonderer Expertise in der humanitären Dimension der Sicherheitspolitik teilnahmen.

Während des Roundtable diskutierten die Teilnehmer verschiedene Dimensionen des Konzepts "Human Security" und berührten Themen wie Umweltzerstörung, Menschenrechtsschutz, Vertreibung, Ernährungssicherheit und Gesundheit. In der Diskussion ging es insbesondere darum, dass diese Herausforderungen ein erhebliches Potenzial haben, Konflikte in Regionen wie Afrika, dem Nahen Osten und Asien auszulösen und voranzutreiben. Die Teilnehmer waren sich einig, dass bei der Behandlung sicherheitspolitischer Fragen in konfliktträchtigen Regionen ein stärker vernetzter Ansatz erforderlich ist.


Health Security Roundtable Berlin (2017)

Am 16. Oktober 2017 veranstaltete die Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz (MSC) am Rande des Weltgesundheitsgipfels in Berlin einen Roundtable zum Thema Health Security. Der Roundtable wurde gemeinsam von der MSC und dem World Health Summit ausgerichtet.

Die Diskussionen beschäftigten sich vor allem mit der lückenhaften Führungsstärke der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) im Bereich Health Security. Die Diskussionsteilnehmer waren sich einig, dass trotz einiger Fortschritte insgesamt bisher nur mäßige Verbesserungen erzielt wurden. Die Teilnehmer drängten darauf, dass die internationale Staatengemeinschaft mehr Finanzmittel bereitstellen solle, identifizierten erhebliche Kapazitätslücken auf Länderebene und forderten klarere Rechenschaftsmechanismen. Angesichts einer beispiellosen Zahl globaler Gesundheitskrisen wird die Zeit im Kampf gegen die nächste Epidemie knapp.  

Einleitende Worte gaben Botschafter Wolfgang Ischinger, Vorsitzender der MSC, Detlev Ganten, Gründungspräsident des Weltgesundheitsgipfels, Suerie Moon, Forschungsdirektorin des Globalen Gesundheitszentrums in Genf, und Peter Salama, Exekutivdirektor des Gesundheitsprogramms der Weltgesundheitsorganisation. Moderiert wurde der Roundtable von David Heymann, Leiter des Centre on Global Health Security von Chatham House.

Einen zusammenfassenden Bericht über den Roundtable in englischer Sprache finden Sie hier. Von einigen Fotos in unserer Mediathek können sie einen Eindruck von der Veranstaltung gewinnen.


Health Security Roundtable Washington (Mai 2017)

Im Rahmen des Core Group Meetings in Washington DC am 9./10. Mai veranstaltete die MSC einen Health Security Roundtable in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Global Health Policy Centers des Centers for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS). Dabei kamen Experten und Entscheidungsträger aus der Politik, dem Militär, der Wirtschaft, der Wissenschaft sowie von Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen zusammen.

Thematisiert wurde insbesondere die Gefahr biologischer Terrorattacken. Durch signifikante Fortschritte im Bereich der Biotechnologie (z.B. CRISPR), die das Manipulieren von Pathogenen signifikant vereinfachen, sowie durch die anhaltende Gefahr terroristischer Anschläge weltweit, hat dieses Thema neue Relevanz gewonnen. Auch interessierten sich die Teilnehmer dafür, inwieweit die neue US-Administration unter Donald Trump die Führungsrolle der USA beim Thema Health Security weiterentwickeln wird.

Keynote-Reden wurden von Tim Ziemer, Senior Director for Health Security and Biodefense at the National Security Council, Wendy Sherman, ehemalige Under Secretary of State, sowie Rob Nabors, Direktor des Washingtoner Büros der Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, gehalten. Moderiert wurde der Roundtable von J. Stephen Morrison, dem Direktor des Global Health Policy Centers am CSIS. Einen ausführlichen Report finden Sie hier.


Health Security Roundtable in München (Februar 2017)

Am Rande der 53. Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz, die vom 17. bis zum 19. Februar 2017 stattfand, versammelte die MSC zusammen mit Chatham House sowie der Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation führende Vertreterinnen und Vertreter von Organisationen aus dem Bereich Health Security zu einem Roundtable mit dem Titel "Ready or Not? Addressing Gaps in the Global Surveillance and Response System."

Im Fokus der Debatte standen Vorsorgemaßnahmen bei Pandemien in instabilen und nichtregierten Regionen sowie Angriffe auf Gesundheitsinfrastruktur. Zu den hochkarätigen Teilnehmern des Health Security Roundtables zählten unter anderem Christopher Elias (Präsident der Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation),  Joanne Liu (Internationale Präsidentin von Ärzte ohne Grenzen), Peter Maurer (Präsident des Internationalen Komitees vom Roten Kreuz), Alaa Murabit (Gründerin und Präsidentin von of The Voice of Libyan Women), Stefan Oschmann (Vorsitzender der Geschäftsleitung & CEO von Merck), Peter Salama (Geschäftsführer des Health Emergencies Programme der Weltgesundheitsorganisation) und Thomas D. Waldhauser (General und Kommandeur des African Command der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika). Moderiert wurde der Roundtable von Robin Niblett (Leiter  von Chatham House).

Lesen Sie hier den Bericht zum Roundtable, den Chatham House verfasst hat.


Health Security Roundtable in Berlin (2016)

Am 9. Oktober veranstaltete die MSC zusammen mit der M8 Alliance einen Health Security Roundtable am Rande des diesjährigen Weltgesundheitsgipfels im Auswärtigen Amt in Berlin. Die Veranstaltung brachte führende Vertreter von internationalen Organisationen, politische Entscheidungsträger sowie Wissenschaftler zusammen, um über aktuelle Herausforderungen im Bereich Gesundheitssicherheit zu diskutieren.

Im Fokus der Debatten standen vor allem die Lehren aus den jüngsten Krisen im Bereich der Gesundheitssicherheit, insbesondere dem Ebolaausbruch in Westafrika. Zu den Teilnehmern zählten u.a. Detlev Ganten, Gründungspräsident des World Health Summit, Matshidiso Rebecca Moeti, Regionalleiterin für Afrika der World Health Organization, Victor J. Dzau, Präsident der National Academy of Medicine, Yves Daccord, Generaldirektor des Internationalen Komitees des Roten Kreuz sowie Florian Westphal, deutscher Leiter von Ärzte ohne Grenzen. Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zum HSR, darunter der Konferenzbericht sowie Fotos der Veranstaltung.