Defence & Security Policy Series

NATO Engages: The Brussels Summit Dialogue (July 2018)

A view from the audience at NATO Engages: The Brussels Summit Dialogue (Photo: MSC / ACA)

With world leaders meeting next door, the Munich Security Conference – in partnership with NATO, the Atlantic Council, the German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF) and Women in International Security (WIIS) – organized the official outreach event of this year's NATO Summit from July 11 to 12 in Brussels. Titled "NATO Engages: The Brussels Summit Dialogue" the event brought together current and next-generation leaders in the spectacular setting of the new NATO Headquarters to discuss some of the alliance's most pressing challenges. Key themes mirrored the official summit agenda, but also included broader transatlantic and global security issues.

Among other leaders in security policy, NATO Engages welcomed Petro Poroshenko, President of Ukraine; Mohammad Ashraf Ghani, President of Afghanistan; Beatrice Fihn, Executive Director of ICAN; and Rose Gottemoeller, Deputy Secretary General of NATO. A specific aim of "NATO Engages" was also to reach out to the broader public and engage stakeholders beyond the traditional security and defence community: The event counted 491 participants from 57 different countries, with 30 percent of participants below the age of 35, and 40 percent being women.

See our event report for a brief summary of the key debates from the two-day event. For the full agenda as well as for more information on the consortium behind NATO Engages, visit nato-engages.org. You can re-watch recordings of all of every session from NATO Engages here. A selection of photos from the event is available in our media library.

For more on the topic of the transatlantic alliance and European defence, see the summary of our Roundtable on European Defence, which was held in Brussels on the eve of the NATO Summit.



About the Defence & Security Policy Series

Since the turn of the millennium, the global security environment has been in great flux. The increasingly multipolar world is characterized by the upsurge of state actors like Russia and China as well as by the alarming number of non-state armed groups and weak states around the globe. These developments have given rise to intense debates on the present and future global security architecture.

In this context, the Munich Security Conference's traditional focus on issues of European defence and transatlantic security cooperation remains as relevant as ever. Beyond advocating for discussions on deeper, more impactful defence and security cooperation in Europe, the MSC advances the international debate on a wide array of defence and security policy issues, including: nuclear and conventional arms control, counterterrorism, transnational organized crime, intelligence cooperation, planning and procurement, and strategic foresight. Events in the context of the Defence & Security Policy Series are aimed at selected decision-makers at the highest levels of government, academia, militaries, the private sector, and civil society.


Summits, roundtables and other activities

As part of the Defence & Security Policy Series, the MSC organizes numerous events, which vary in scope and size.

MSC Summits address an audience of up to 150 high-profile representatives from government, academia, the military, the private sector and civil society, while also retaining the MSC's trademark atmosphere of open exchange and frank debates in an exclusive setting. These summits aim to bring together political and economic leaders to develop strategies on defence and security policy issues.

MSC Roundtables are intimate, off-the-record gatherings of no more than 40 participants taking place throughout the year on the sidelines of high-level international events around the world. The topics of discussion are tailored to reflect current debates and challenges in defence and security policy, attracting high-ranking participants from governments, militaries, academia, the private sector and civil society.

In addition to the events specifically dedicated to the topic, defence and security policy issues naturally play an important role at all MSC activities. During the annual flagship conference in Munich, these topics have regularly taken center stage at panel discussions as well as in a growing number of side events. Further, the MSC regularly features issues of defence and security policy in its annual Munich Security Report and also published a special report on European defence cooperation titled "More European, More Connected and More Capable: Building the European Armed Forces of the Future" in November 2017.


Past Events

Roundtable on Transatlantic Security Munich (2018)

On the sidelines of the main conference in 2018, the MSC organized its first Roundtable on Transatlantic Security. Co-hosted with NATO, its theme was "Stronger Together: The Enduring Value of the Rules-Based International Order." The roundtable brought together senior North American and European decision-makers from the military and politics, leading policy experts as well as representatives of the defence industry.

The discussions focused on Europe’s changing threat landscape and related policy implications for transatlantic defence cooperation. More specifically, the roundtable participants observed that the enormous pace of technological change poses pressing challenges that require a new way of thinking about defence planning. Expressing a sense of urgency, the participants agreed that decisions on which type of defence capabilities were needed must be taken soon. In this context, more extensive exchange of information and joint procurement of more interoperable defence systems were identified as possible policy priorities to prepare the Alliance for future challenges.


European Defence Roundtable Berlin (2017)

To contribute to the debate on intensifying European defence cooperation, the MSC – in cooperation with McKinsey & Company and the Centre for International Security Policy at the Hertie School of Governance – authored a report titled "More European, More Capable and More Connected: Building the European Armed Forces of the Future". A public discussion with distinguished panelists served to present and discuss its key findings.

Pre-release coverage of the report included a feature article in Der Spiegel and a piece by Politico. An English version of an op-ed in Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung on the report by MSC Chairman Wolfgang Ischinger and former McKinsey executive Frank Mattern is available as our November Monthly Mind column.

Following the public discussion, in an off-the-record session, about 50 representatives from politics, militaries, think tanks, and the defence sector came together to discuss the current state and prospects of European defence cooperation. Notable participants included Nathalie Tocci, Director of the Istituto Affari Internazionali, Sir Christopher Harper, former Director General of the International Military Staff of NATO, Norbert Röttgen, foreign policy expert of the CDU and Member of the German Bundestag, Horst-Heinrich Brauss, NATO Assistant Secretary General for Defence Policy and Planning, and Tomasz Szatkowski, Undersecretary of State in the Polish Ministry of National Defence.


European Defence Roundtable Malta (2017)

On April 25, 2017, the eve of the informal meeting of EU Defence Ministers in Malta, the European Defence Roundtable brought together around 20 female decision-makers from government, parliaments, and civil society for a frank and open roundtable debate on the state and future of European defence.

The event took place under the patronage of Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca, President of Malta and of the Council of the European Union, and was jointly hosted by the Women Political Leaders Global Forum (WPL) and the Munich Security Conference (MSC).

Click here to read the full conference report.


European Defence Roundtable in Warsaw (2016)

On the eve of the NATO summit, the MSC's European Defence Roundtable brought together a small group of senior decision-makers in order to debate the summit's key topics in a private, off-the-record setting.

Participants of the event, which was organized with support of Leonardo, included several Foreign and Defence Ministers from Northern and Eastern Europe, CEOs as well as senior NATO leaders.

Click here for a summary of the debates. Also read Wolfgang Ischinger's essay "The Russia Paradox", published on the occasion of the NATO summit.


European Defence Summit in Brussels (2015)

On 15 & 16 September 2015, the MSC hosted its second European Defence Summit in Brussels. More than 200 decision-makers from politics, the armed forces and the business community gathered in the European capital to debate the future of European defence against the backdrop of the numerous crises and conflicts in and around Europe.

Participants included NATO Supreme Allied Commander Transformation, General Jean-Paul Paloméros, General Patrick de Rousiers, chairman of the EU Military Committee, several defence ministers as well as numerous state secretaries and parliamentarians.

Photos and videos of the event can be found in our media library. For more info, take a look at the press release, the opening statement, the concluding report, as well as an opinion piece by Wolfgang Ischinger, published on the occasion of the Summit.


European Defence Summit in Berlin (2013)

A first summit on 25/26 April 2013 in Berlin aimed at giving impulses to European "Pooling & Sharing". In addition to former French Prime Minister François Fillon and NATO SACEUR Admiral James Stavridis, the meeting featured senior representatives of the German Government, members of the Bundestag, EU decision-makers, a number of state secretaries from key European states as well as representatives of NATO, EU, and the European Defence Agency. Moreover, high-ranking military and industry leaders such as General Hans-Lothar Domröse, Commander of the Allied Joint Force Command, the highest EU military representative General Patrick de Rousiers and EADS CEO Dr. Thomas Enders as well as leading academics and researchers from European think tanks and research institutions took part in the debates.

A brief report from our "The Future of European Defence Summit" is available here. Also, a McKinsey & Company report on saving potentials and other areas of improvement in European defence, prepared over the course of our 2013 events, is available for download.

Defence & Security Policy Series

NATO Engages: The Brussels Summit Dialogue (Juli 2018)

Ein Blick aus dem Publikum bei NATO Engages: The Brussels Summit Dialogue (Photo: MSC / ACA)

Während sich nebenan Staatsoberhäupter berieten, veranstaltete die Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz in Kooperation mit der NATO, dem Atlantic Council, dem German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF) und Women in International Security (WIIS) vom 11. Bis 12 Juli in Brüssel ein offizielles Outreach-Event zum NATO-Gipfel. Unter dem Titel "NATO Engages: The Brussels Summit Dialogue" versammelte sie aktuelle und zukünftige Führungspersönlichkeiten vor dem spektakulären Hintergrund des neuen NATO-Hauptsitzes, um die dringlichsten Herausforderungen der Allianz zu diskutieren. Neben den offiziellen Themen des NATO-Gipfels schloss dies auch eine Vielzahl weiterer transatlantischer und globaler Sicherheitsthemen ein.

Mit Petro Poroshenko, dem Präsidenten der Ukraine, Mohammad Aschraf Ghani, dem Präsidenten Afghanistans, Beatrice Fihn, Exekutivdirektorin von ICAN, Rose Gottemoeller, stellvertretende Generalsekretärin der NATO, und anderen begrüßte NATO Engages viele sicherheitspolitische Führungspersönlichkeiten. Ein Ziel von NATO Engages war aber auch, mit interaktiven Formaten die breitere Öffentlichkeit und Stakeholder jenseits der traditionellen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik in die Diskussion einzubinden: Die Teilnehmerschaft umfasste 491 Teilnehmer aus 57 Ländern; von ihnen waren 30 Prozent 35 Jahre oder jünger und 40 Prozent Frauen.

Eine Zusammenfassung der wichtigsten Diskussionen der zweitätigen Veranstaltung können Sie in unserem Bericht nachlesen. Für das vollständige Programm und weitere Informationen zum Konsortium hinter NATO Engages besuchen Sie nato-engages.org. Sie können Videos aller Diskussionen bei NATO Engages hier nochmals ansehen. Ausgewählte Fotos von der Veranstaltung haben wir in unserer Mediathek für Sie zusammengestellt.

Wenn Sie mehr von uns über das Thema transatlantische Sicherheit und europäische Verteidigungskooperation wissen möchten, lesen Sie die Zusammenfassung unseres Roundtable on European Defence, der ebenfalls in Brüssel am Vortag des NATO-Gipfels stattfand.


Photos & Videos

Zur Mediathek

Über die Defence & Security Policy Series

Seit der Jahrtausendwende ist das globale Sicherheitsumfeld im Umbruch. Die zunehmend multipolare Welt zeichnet sich durch einen Aufschwung staatlicher Machtpole – wie Russland und China – sowie durch eine alarmierende Zahl nichtstaatlicher bewaffneter Gruppen und schwacher Staaten aus. Diese Entwicklungen haben zu intensiven Debatten über die aktuelle und künftige globale Sicherheitsarchitektur geführt.

In diesem Zusammenhang ist der traditionelle Fokus der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz auf Fragen der europäischen Verteidigung und der transatlantischen Sicherheitszusammenarbeit so relevant wie nie. Die MSC setzt sich nicht nur für vertiefte und wirkungsvollere Zusammenarbeit in den Bereichen Verteidigung und Sicherheit in Europa ein, sondern fördert auch die internationale Debatte über ein breites Spektrum von verteidigungs- und sicherheitspolitischen Fragen, darunter nukleare und konventionelle Rüstungskontrolle, Terrorismusbekämpfung, transnationale organisierte Kriminalität, nachrichtendienstliche Zusammenarbeit, Planung und Beschaffung sowie strategische Voraussicht. Die Veranstaltungen im Rahmen der Defence & Security Policy Series richten sich an ausgewählte Entscheidungsträger auf den höchsten Ebenen von Regierungen, Militär, Wissenschaft, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft.


Summits, Roundtables und andere Aktivitäten

Im Rahmen der Defence & Security Policy Series organisiert die MSC zahlreiche Veranstaltungen unterschiedlicher Größe.

MSC Summits richten sich an bis zu 150 ranghohe Vertreter von Regierungen, Militärs, Forschung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft, wobei die MSC-typische Atmosphäre des offenen Austauschs in einem ausgewählten Rahmen erhalten bleibt. Ziel dieser Summits ist es, Entscheidungsträger verschiedener Sektoren zusammenzubringen, um Strategien für sicherheits- und verteidigungspolitische Herausforderungen zu entwickeln.

MSC Roundtables sind vertrauliche Treffen von nicht mehr als 40 Teilnehmern, die das Jahr über am Rande hochkarätiger internationaler Veranstaltungen auf der ganzen Welt stattfinden. Die Diskussionsthemen sind auf die drängendsten Debatten und Herausforderungen in der Verteidigungs- und Sicherheitspolitik zugeschnitten und ziehen hochrangige Vertreter von Regierungen, Militärs, Forschung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft an.

Während der jährlichen Hauptkonferenz in München stehen sicherheits- und verteidigungspolitische Themen regelmäßig im Mittelpunkt der Podiumsdiskussionen und einer wachsenden Zahl von Nebenveranstaltungen. Darüber hinaus behandelt die MSC in ihrem jährlichen Munich Security Report regelmäßig Fragen der Verteidigungs- und Sicherheitspolitik und veröffentlichte zudem im November 2017 einen Sonderbericht über die europäische Verteidigungszusammenarbeit mit dem Titel "More European, More Connected and More Capable: Building the European Armed Forces of the Future".

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Roundtable on Transatlantic Security München (2018)

Am Rande der Hauptkonferenz im Jahr 2018 veranstaltete die MSC ihren ersten "Roundtable on Transatlantic Security" unter dem Titel "Stronger Together: The Enduring Value of the Rules-Based International Order" in Kooperation mit der NATO. Der Roundtable brachte hochrangige nordamerikanische und europäische Entscheidungsträger aus Militär und Politik, führende sicherheitspolitische Experten sowie Vertreter der Verteidigungsindustrie zusammen.

Im Mittelpunkt der Gespräche standen die sich wandelnden Bedrohungsszenarien für Europa und die damit verbundenen politischen Implikationen für die transatlantische Verteidigungszusammenarbeit. Insbesondere stellten die Teilnehmer fest, dass der enorme technologische Wandel drängende Herausforderungen mit sich bringt, die ein neues Denken in der Verteidigungsplanung erfordern. Die Teilnehmer waren sich darin einig, dass Entscheidungen darüber, welche Arten von Verteidigungskapazitäten erforderlich sind, bald getroffen werden müssen. In diesem Zusammenhang wurden ein umfassenderer Informationsaustausch und die gemeinsame Beschaffung interoperabler Verteidigungssysteme als mögliche politische Prioritäten festgelegt, um das Bündnis auf künftige Herausforderungen vorzubereiten.


European Defence Roundtable Berlin (2017)

Als Beitrag zur Debatte um größere europäische Verteidigungskooperation veröffentlichte die MSC im Rahmen des European Defence Roundtable in Berlin – zusammen mit McKinsey & Company und dem Centre for International Security Policy an der Hertie School of Governance – einen neuen Bericht mit dem Titel "More European, More Connected and More Capable: Building the European Armed Forces of the Future". Eine öffentliche Podiumsdiskussion mit hochkarätigen Experten diente der Präsentation der zentralen Ergebnisse des Berichts.

Eine Vorberichterstattung zum Bericht lieferten Der Spiegel und Politico. Eine englische Version des FAZ-Meinungsbeitrags über den Bericht vom MSC-Vorsitzenden Wolfgang Ischinger und Frank Mattern, früherem McKinsey-Direktor, ist als unser Monthly Mind des Monats November 2017 zu lesen.

Nach der öffentlichen Präsentation trafen rund 50 Vertreter von Regierungen, Streitkräften, Forschungszentren und dem Verteidigungssektor zum European Defence Roundtable zusammen, um "off-the-record" zu diskutieren. Zu den Teilnehmern zählten Horst-Heinrich Brauss (Beigeordneter Generalsekretär der NATO für Verteidigungspolitik und -Planung), Norbert Röttgen (Vorsitzender des Auswärtigen Ausschusses im deutschen Bundestag), Sir Christopher Harper (früherer Generaldirektor des internationalen Militärstabs der NATO), Nathalie Tocci (Direktorin des Istituto Affari Internazionali in Rom) und Tomasz Szatkowski (Staatssekretär des polnischen Verteidigungsministeriums).


European Defence Roundtable Malta (2017)

Am 25. April 2017 veranstaltete die MSC gemeinsam mit Women Political Leaders Global Forum (WPL) einen European Defence Roundtable in Malta. Am Vortag des informellen Treffens der EU-Verteidigungsminister kamen rund 20 weibliche Entscheidungsträger aus europäischen Regierungen, Parlamenten und der Zivilgesellschaft zu einem offenen Austausch über gegenwärtige und zukünftige Herausforderungen im Bereich der europäischen Verteidigung zusammen.

Die Veranstaltung fandt unter der Schirmherrschaft von Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca, Präsidentin von Malta und des Rats der Europäischen Union, statt.

Hier geht es zu einem ausführlichen Veranstaltungsbericht.


European Defence Roundtable in Warschau (2016)

Im Rahmen des European Defence Roundtable kam am Vorabend des NATO-Gipfels ein kleiner Kreis hochrangiger Entscheidungsträger zusammen, um in vertraulicher Atmosphäre die wichtigsten Themen des Gipfels zu debattieren. 

Zu den Teilnehmern aus Politik, Militär und Wirtschaft zählten u.a. mehrere Außen- und Verteidigungsminister aus Nord- und Osteuropa, CEOs und hochrangige Vertreter der NATO. 

Einen ausführlichen Bericht der Veranstaltung, die die MSC mit Unterstützung des Leonardo-Konzerns organisierte, gibt es hier. Lesen Sie auch einen Meinungsbeitrag von Wolfgang Ischinger zum NATO-Gipfel, der auf Spiegel Online erschien ("Das Russland-Paradox").


European Defence Summit in Brüssel (2015)

Die MSC veranstaltete am 15. & 16. September 2015 in Brüssel den zweiten European Defence Summit. Über 200 Entscheidungsträger aus Politik, Militär und Wirtschaft diskutierten angesichts der derzeitigen Krisen- und Konflikthäufung über die Zukunft der europäischen Verteidigung. An der Konferenz nahmen neben dem Supreme Allied Commander Transformation der NATO, General Jean-Paul Paloméros, auch General Patrick de Rousiers, der Vorsitzende des EU-Militärkomitees, mehrere Verteidigungsminister sowie zahlreiche Staatssekretäre und Parlamentarier teil.

Bilder und Videos der Veranstaltung finden Sie in unserer Mediathek, weitere Infos in der Pressemitteilung, der Eröffnungsrede, dem Abschlussbericht und einem Meinungsbeitrag von W. Ischinger anlässlich des Gipfels.


European Defence Summit in Berlin (2013)

Ein erster Summit wurde am 25. & 26. April 2013 in Berlin mit dem Ziel ausgerichtet, Impulse für Pooling & Sharing zu setzen. Neben dem ehemaligen französischen Premierminister François Fillon und NATO SACEUR Admiral James Stavridis zählten zu den Teilnehmern auch Vertreter der Bundesregierung, Mitglieder des Deutschen Bundestages, hochrangige Entscheidungsträger aus Europa, etwa der belgische Vizepremier und Verteidigungsminister Pieter de Crem, diverse Staatssekretäre europäischer Staaten sowie Vertreter der NATO, der EU und der Europäischen Verteidigungsagentur (EDA). Ebenfalls nahmen hochrangige Militär- und Industrievertreter, u.a. General Hans-Lothar Domröse, Oberbefehlshaber des Allied Joint Force Command, der höchste EU-Militärrepräsentant General Patrick de Rousiers und EADS-CEO Thomas Enders teil, ebenso wie führende Wissenschaftler aus europäischen Think Tanks und Forschungsinstitutionen.

Einen kurzen Bericht des "The Future of European Defence Summit" finden Sie hier. Eine Analyse von McKinsey & Company zu Einsparpotenzialen in der europäischen Verteidigungspolitik, die im Rahmen der Veranstaltungen 2013 entstand, kann hier heruntergeladen werden.