Economic & Resource Security Series

Roundtable on Energy Security in Munich (2018)

"Lifelines and Pipe Dreams" – the Roundtable on Energy Security at the MSC 2018 (Photo: MSC / Kuhlmann)

On the sidelines of the main conference 2018, the MSC organized a Roundtable on Energy Security, titled "Lifelines and Pipe Dreams – The Geopolitics of Energy Transmission." Co-hosted with the ONS Foundation, this event brought together selected participants from non-governmental organizations, governments, private companies, international organizations as well as the military to discuss the use of energy resources as well as their means of transmission as a tool of political statecraft.

During the roundtable, participants argued whether energy – resources as well as energy transmission and distribution systems – was increasingly being "weaponized" as a tool of political influence and pressure. Accordingly, the discussion subsequently focused on potential strategies to reduce harmful dependencies between supplier and buyer countries. Regarding Europe, the participants debated whether and how the EU should enhance its ability to conduct effective energy diplomacy.



About the Economic & Resource Security Series

In an increasingly interdependent world, state and non-state actors rely on stable flows of resources and a resilient global economy. Accordingly, competition and cooperation over the use of these resources as well as the provision of distribution networks and infrastructure constitute decisive security factors. Today, the demands of a growing world population make the sustainable and economical use of these resources an imperative security challenge for policy-makers around the world. Some regions, such as Central Asia or the Arctic, may well turn into a new hot spot of energy security and thus pose new geostrategic challenges. The MSC contributes to these debates regarding economic and resource security through a series of events aimed at selected decision-makers at the highest levels of government, academia, militaries, the private sector and civil society.


Summits, roundtables and other activities

As part of the Economic & Resource Security Series, the MSC organizes numerous events, which vary in size.

MSC Summits address an audience of up to 150 high-profile representatives from government, academia, the military, the private sector and civil society, while also retaining the MSC's trademark atmosphere of open exchange and frank debates in an exclusive setting. These summits aim to bring together political and economic leaders to develop strategies to address challenges at the intersection of security, prosperity, and natural resources.

MSC Roundtables are intimate, off-the-record gatherings of no more than 40 participants taking place throughout the year at the sidelines of high-level international events around the world. The topics of discussion are tailored to reflect current debates and challenges in economic and resource security, attracting high-ranking representatives from government, academia, the military, the private sector and civil society.

In addition to the events specifically dedicated to the topic, economic and resource security issues generally play an important role in MSC activities. During the annual flagship conference in Munich, these topics have regularly taken center stage at panel discussions as well as in a growing number of side events. Further, the MSC regularly includes chapters on economic and resource security issues in its annual Munich Security Report.

Past Events

ONS Summit in Stavanger (2016)

As part of the MSC Energy Security Series, the MSC and the Norwegian ONS Foundation organized the "ONS Summit" in Stavanger on 28 and 29 August 2016.

About 60 key leaders from the energy industry, politics and the security community gathered to discuss global energy trends, their geopolitical and industrial implications, and the challenges they pose to companies and states.

Among the meeting's participants were the CEOs of major industry leaders, such as Statoil, Shell, ConocoPhillips, Eon and Wintershall as well as senior representatives from Saudi Aramco, eni, and Iran's National Oil Company.

Participants also included cabinet ministers from around the world. The Norwegian government was represented by Prime Minister Erna Solberg, Minister for Foreign Affairs Børge Brende, and Norway's Minister of Petroleum and Energy Tord Lien. Daniel Yergin, one of the world's leading energy experts, moderated the event. For more information, take a look at the Press Release and the Conference Report. Photos of the event can be found in our media library. Click here to read an "Energy Post" interview with Christoph Frei, Secretary General of the World Energy Council, on the occasion of the ONS Summit.


Energy Security Summit 2015: "Crises and Prices: Energy Security Amidst Multiple Uncertainties"

The Energy Security Summit 2015 took place on May 6 and 7, 2015 in Berlin. Among the high-level participants and speakers were the Minister of Petroleum of Iran, Bijan Namdar Zanganeh, and US Special Envoy and Coordinator for International Energy Affairs, Amos Hochstein. Topics included the energy-strategic implications of the Ukraine crisis and the oil price volatility.

Click here for the Summit's full program, and here for a list of participants. Photos of the event can be found in our media library.


Energy Security Summit 2014: "The Next Great Game? Global Impacts of the Shale Revolution"

Do the shale revolution in the US and the crisis in Ukraine represent major turning points for European energy policy and European energy security? These and other key questions were front and center at the second Energy Security Summit, held on May 27 and 28 in Berlin. Speakers and panelists included, among many others, Ukrainian Prime Minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk, German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier, the US Special Envoy and Coordinator for International Energy Affairs, Carlos Pascual, EU Energy Commissioner Günther Oettinger as well as numerous energy and defense ministers from Eastern Europe and North Africa and business executives.

A concluding report of the summit's debates is available here. Further available information: an agenda and list of speakers (PDF), and pictures as well as select videos and audio files in our media library.

Economic & Resource Security Series

Roundtable on Energy Security in München (2018)

"Lifelines and Pipe Dreams" – der Roundtable on Energy Security bei der MSC 2018 (Photo: MSC / Kuhlmann)

Am Rande der Hauptkonferenz im Februar 2018 organisierte die MSC einen Roundtable on Energy Security mit dem Titel "Lifelines and Pipe Dreams – The Geopolitics of Energy Transmission". In Zusammenarbeit mit der ONS Foundation führte die Veranstaltung ausgewählte Teilnehmer aus Regierungen, Privatunternehmen, internationalen Organisationen, NGOs sowie dem Militär zusammen, um über die Nutzung von Energieressourcen und deren Übertragungswege als Instrument der Geopolitik zu diskutieren.

Während des Roundtable diskutierten die Teilnehmer, ob Energie – also Ressourcen, wie auch Energieübertragungs- und -verteilungssysteme – zunehmend als Instrument des politischen Einflusses und Drucks genutzt wird. Dementsprechend konzentrierte sich die Diskussion anschließend auf mögliche Strategien zur Verringerung schädlicher Abhängigkeiten zwischen Liefer- und Abnehmerländern. In Bezug auf Europa diskutierten die Teilnehmer, ob und wie die EU ihre Fähigkeit zur Durchführung einer wirksamen Energiediplomatie verbessern sollte.


Photos & Videos

Zur Mediathek

Über die Economic & Resource Security Series

In einer zunehmend interdependenten Welt sind staatliche und nichtstaatliche Akteure auf stabile Ressourcenzugänge und eine robuste Weltwirtschaft angewiesen. Dementsprechend sind Wettbewerb und Kooperation bei der Nutzung von Ressourcen sowie die Bereitstellung von Verteilungsnetzen und Infrastruktur entscheidende Sicherheitsfaktoren. Die Anforderungen einer wachsenden Weltbevölkerung machen die nachhaltige und wirtschaftliche Nutzung knapper Ressourcen heute zu einer unverzichtbaren Sicherheitsherausforderung für die Politik weltweit. Einige Regionen, wie Zentralasien oder die Arktis, könnten neuen Brennpunkten der Energiesicherheit werden und damit neue geostrategische Herausforderungen auf den Plan rufen. Die Veranstaltungen im Rahmen der Economic & Resource Security Series richten sich an ausgewählte Entscheidungsträger auf den höchsten Ebenen von Regierungen, Militär, Privatwirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft.


Summits, Roundtables und andere Aktivitäten

Im Rahmen der Economic & Resource Security Series organisiert die MSC zahlreiche Veranstaltungen unterschiedlicher Größe.

MSC Summits richten sich an bis zu 150 ranghohe Vertreter von Regierungen, Militärs, Forschung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft, wobei die MSC-typische Atmosphäre des offenen Austauschs in einem ausgewählten Rahmen erhalten bleibt. Ziel dieser Summits ist es, Führungspersonen von diversen Stakeholdern zusammenzubringen, um Herausforderungen an der Schnittstelle von Sicherheit, wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung und natürlichen Ressourcen zu diskutieren.

MSC Roundtables sind vertrauliche Treffen von nicht mehr als 40 Teilnehmern, die das Jahr über am Rande hochkarätiger internationaler Veranstaltungen auf der ganzen Welt stattfinden. Die Diskussionsthemen sind auf die aktuellsten Themen im Bereich Wirtschafts- und Ressourcensicherheit zugeschnitten und ziehen hochrangige Vertreter von Regierungen, Militärs, Forschung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft an.

Während der jährlichen Hauptkonferenz in München stehen ressourcen- und wirtschaftspolitische Sicherheitsthemen regelmäßig im Mittelpunkt der Podiumsdiskussionen und einer wachsenden Zahl von Nebenveranstaltungen. Darüber hinaus nimmt die MSC regelmäßig Kapitel zu verwandten Themen in ihren jährlichen Munich Security Report auf.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

ONS Summit in Stavanger (2016)

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe zum Thema Energiesicherheit richtete die MSC am 28. und 29. August 2016 gemeinsam mit der norwegischen ONS Foundation den "ONS Summit" in Stavanger aus.

Dabei trafen rund 60 Persönlichkeiten aus Energieindustrie, Politik und Sicherheitskreisen zusammen, um über globale Energieentwicklungen und deren geopolitische und wirtschaftliche Konsequenzen zu diskutieren. 

Zu den Teilnehmern zählten die CEOs namhafter Branchenführer wie Statoil, Shell, ConocoPhillips, EON und Wintershall, sowie ranghohe Vertreter von Saudi Aramco, eni und der National Iranian Oil Company.

Neben der norwegischen Regierung, die durch Ministerpräsidentin Erna Solberg, Außenminister Børge Brende und Erdöl- und Energieminister Tord Lien vertreten war, nahmen auch Fachminister aus anderen Teilen der Welt an der Veranstaltung teil. Moderiert wurde der ONS Summit von dem führenden Energieexperten Daniel Yergin. Mehr Informationen zur Veranstaltung finden Sie in der Pressemitteilung und dem Konferenzbericht (englisch). Hier gelangen Sie zu unserer Mediathek mit Fotos der Veranstaltung. Lesen Sie hier ein Interview der "Energy Post" mit dem Generalsekretär des World Energy Council, Christoph Frei, anlässlich des Gipfels.


Energy Security Summit 2015: "Crises and Prices: Energy Security Amidst Multiple Uncertainties"

Der Energy Security Summit 2015 fand am 6. und 7. Mai 2015 in Berlin statt. Prominente Diskussionsteilnehmer und Referenten wie der iranische Ölminister Bijan Namdar Zanganeh und der US-Sonderbeauftragte für Internationale Energiefragen Amos Hochstein diskutierten u.a. über die Auswirkungen der Ukraine-Krise und der Ölpreisvolatilität.

Das vollständige Programm des Gipfels finden sie hier. Die Teilnehmerliste (PDF) kann hier heruntergeladen werden. Ein Auswahl von Fotos der Veranstaltung finden Sie in unserer Mediathek.


Energy Security Summit 2014: "The Next Great Game? Global Impacts of the Shale Revolution"

Die US-Schiefergas-Revolution und die Ukraine-Krise als Zäsur für die europäische Energiepolitik und die europäische Energiesicherheit? Diese und weitere Schlüsselfragen waren zentrale Themen beim zweiten Energy Security Summit, der am 27. und 28. Mai in Berlin stattfand. An den Diskussionen nahmen u.a. der ukrainische Premierminister Arsenij Jazenjuk, der deutsche Außenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier, der US-Sonderbeauftragte für Internationale Energiefragen Carlos Pascual, EU-Energiekommissar Günther Oettinger sowie zahlreiche Energie- und Verteidigungsminister und hochrangige Wirtschaftsvertreter aus Osteuropa und Nordafrika teil.

Ein zusammenfassender Bericht der Debatten beim Summit ist hier nachzulesen. Weitere verfügbare Dokumente: das Konferenzprogramm und eine Übersicht der Redner, sowie Fotos und ausgewählte Videos und Audiodateien in unserer Mediathek.