Ewald-von-Kleist-Award presented to Helmut Schmidt and Valéry Giscard d'Estaing

This year, the MSC’s Ewald-von-Kleist-Award goes to Former German Chancellor Helmut Schmidt (SPD) and former French President Valéry Giscard d'Estaing in recognition of their significant efforts in promoting European security and integration.

Award Winners Valéry Giscard d'Estaing and Helmut Schmidt (Photo: Mueller).

Helmut Schmidt and Valéry Giscard d'Estaing—who established the European Monetary System (EMS) in the 1970s and paved the way for today’s euro—count among the key figures responsible for the German-French reconciliation as part of European integration.

The Ewald-von-Kleist-Award was created in 2009 to honor outstanding personalities for their extraordinary commitment to peace and conflict management. Schmidt und Giscard d’Estaing are the fifth winners of this award which honors the political life and work of Ewald von Kleist. In 1963, Ewald von Kleist founded the “Wehrkunde-Begegnung”, the predecessor of the modern Munich Security Conference. He was the convenor of the conference until he retired in 1998.

The award was presented on February 1 at the Munich Royal Residence during a formal dinner hosted by Bavarian Minister President Horst Seehofer. The laudatory speech was given by Dr. Henry Kissinger.

Former winners of the Ewald-von-Kleist Award include

Dr. Henry Kissinger, 2009
Dr. Javier Solana, 2010
Joseph Lieberman, 2012
Brent Scowcraft, 2013

02 February 2014, by MSC