Advisory Council

The members of the MSC Advisory Council on the sidelines of the MSC 2017 (Photo: MSC/Kuhlmann).

The MSC Advisory Council, led by its chairman Wolfgang Reitzle, helps to maintain and advance the high quality of the annual Munich Security Conference and the MSC's other events, including the annual MSC Core Group Meetings and the Munich Security Report. It advises the chairman of the MSC on strategic direction, thematic focus, and partnership development. The council consists of distinguished individuals appointed by the chairman of the MSC.


Click here to see the Charter of the MSC Advisory Council.



Chairman of the Advisory Council:


Wolfgang Reitzle

Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Linde AG, Munich



Members of the Advisory Council:


Paul Achleitner

Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Deutsche Bank AG, Frankfurt a.M.


Prince Turki Al Faisal bin Abdulaziz Al Saud

Chairman, King Faisal Center for Research and Islamic Studies, Riyadh


Sheikh Hamad bin Jassim bin Jabr Al-Thani

Former Prime Minister and former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the State of Qatar, Doha


Oliver Bäte

Chairman of the Board of Management, Allianz SE, Munich


Carl Bildt

Former Prime Minister and former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of Sweden, Stockholm


Nikolaus von Bomhard

President of the Council, German Institute for International and Security Affairs, Munich


Thomas Enders

Chief Executive Officer, Airbus Group, Leiden


Fu Ying

Chairperson of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the National People's Congress, People's Republic of China, Beijing


Herman O. Gref

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Sberbank RF, Moscow


Jane Harman

Director, President and Chief Executive Officer, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Washington, D.C.


Frank Haun

Chief Executive Officer, Krauss-Maffei Wegmann GmbH & Co. KG, Munich


Toomas Hendrik Ilves

Former President of the Republic of Estonia, Tallinn


John Kerry

Former Secretary of State of the United States of America; Visiting Distinguished Statesman, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace; Distinguished Fellow for Global Affairs, Jackson Institute for Global Affairs, Yale University, New Haven


Frank Mastiaux

Chief Executive Officer, EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg-AG, Karlsruhe


David Miliband

President and Chief Executive Officer, International Rescue Committee, New York, NY; former Secretary for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland


Federica Mogherini

Vice President of the European Commission and High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, European Union, Brussels


Louise Mushikiwabo

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Republic of Rwanda, Kigali


Radosław Sikorski

Senior Fellow, Harvard University; former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Poland, Warsaw


Javier Solana

Former Secretary General of NATO; former High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy; President, ESADE Center, Madrid


George Soros

Founder and Chairman, Open Society Foundations; Chairman, Soros Fund Management LLC, New York, NY


James G. Stavridis

Admiral (ret.); former NATO Supreme Allied Commander Europe; Dean of the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University, Medford, MA


Edmund Stoiber 

Former Minister-President of the Free State of Bavaria, Munich


Ursula von der Leyen

Federal Minister of Defense, Federal Republic of Germany, Berlin